One of the most challenging occurrences that can happen in one’s life is being involved in an automobile accident. This can quickly become an even more difficult event if your accident resulted in serious injury. It is important to be aware of local and state Nevada car accident laws when navigating your situation.
There are many steps to take immediately after an auto accident to ensure you are following all the recommended and required procedures. It is important to be aware of which laws and rules can affect you, in turn effecting the potential outcome of your case.
The Nevada car accident laws have five legal duties imposed on drivers when involved in an automobile accident within the state:
- Stop and move out of the way of traffic
- Assist anyone needing medical attention and call for help if necessary
- Exchange contact and insurance information between parties involved in accident
- Notify police if someone has sustained injuries or the accident is severe
- If it is a serious accident, and police did not file a report, you must report it to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
These obligations are applied to all types of collisions and roadway accidents including car accidents, truck accidents, motorcycle accidents, collisions involving commercial vehicles and accidents involving pedestrians.
Anyone who flees the scene of an accident may risk facing the charges of the Nevada crime of hit and run (NRS 484E.010).
Automobile Insurance Requirements in Nevada
It is required for every driver in the State of Nevada to carry auto insurance whenever behind the wheel. Proof of coverage must be readily available for review at the request of law enforcement officials. You should always check for any changes to Nevada’s minimum insurance requirements and your insurer may have additional options to keep you covered. Below are the minimum requirements of Nevada insurance laws.
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 for property damage per accident
Additionally, it is important to remember that if you are leasing or have financing on your vehicle, you could be required to carry higher insurance premiums.
What to Do After an Accident
While taking the Nevada car accident laws into consideration, there are several other important things to remember. After you have followed the basic obligations outlined by the state, there are a few things to keep in mind to aid to the future of the case. If you have sustained serious injury, you need to carefully document everything in order to build the best case against the party responsible for maximum financial compensation.
When involved in an automobile accident, one of the most important things to remember is to never apologize or acknowledge that you are not injured. Apologizing can be taken as admission of responsibility and can later be used in your case and often people do not realize they are injured at the time of the accident due to many variables.
Be sure to call the police to come to the scene and take a police report for later filing. If they do not respond to the scene, it is important to file the accident with the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days. Be sure to take photos of the accident including damages, skid marks, debris, road signs, stop lights, road conditions or anything else related to the collision. Make sure to get the contact information of any witnesses that may have stopped to aid after the automobile accident.
Hiring an Attorney who Understands Nevada Car Accident Laws
After the initial automobile accident, it is recommended that you consult with a lawyer who has experience and understands the Nevada car accident laws. A personal injury attorney will have access to many resources to help build your case. You should NEVER speak to an insurance company on your own.
Here at Justice Law Center, we strive to provide professional and experienced aid to every client. We understand how confusing and difficult these times can be. We have developed a large network of medical professionals and experts ready to help build your case for the maximum financial compensation for your injuries and pain and suffering. Feel free to contact us at (775) 463-3443 for your free consultation today!
Josh is writer and paralegal, with over 10 years of experience in family law, personal injury, criminal defense and more.